DEAR MAN – worked example

Take the instance of someone having left a job, and being owed £650 for annual leave they did not take.  They can use DEAR MAN to ask for the money back firmly but politely, without being rude or overly pushy.


DESCRIBE
– ”I believe I am owed £650…

EXPLAIN – …for annual leave I was entitled to but did not take, whilst working for you.

ASSERT – Obviously this is a significant amount of money owed which in all honesty I  could really use, especially this time of year (showing a little vulnerability whilst remaining assertive can warm people to you).

REINFORCE – As I said, I believe this is money I am owed which I really need; if you can’t help me I will go to the Citizens’ Advice Bureau for advice and support in claiming this money.”

In a lot of cases, simply ‘DEAR’ is enough – however, if there is resistance, ‘MAN’ can be used too.

MINDFUL – stick to the point, the main topic of conversation.  Don’t be thrown off-direction by something else thrown into the mix.  That can be part of another conversation – THIS conversation is purely about the money owed.

ACT CONFIDENT – Act as though you are sure they will pay you what is owed – after all, you are only claiming what you are due.  Acting confident will make it harder for them to fob you off.

NEGOTIATE – be prepared to meet the other party somewhere in the middle.  With this particular situation negotiating shouldn’t really be an option – the only reason to negotiate that I can think of would be if the place of work was struggling financially, in which case an agreed timescale for paying the former worker could be drawn up.

Leave a comment